We go back to the far reaches of anime time, in our flux capacitor fitted, time machine Ferrari…

AoY Podcast #17 – The Hangover Cast 2013 (Animazement & Phoenix Comic Con Talkback)

HANGOVER CAST copy

Also known as: “Hey, you guys need to take that to the bathroom!”
Or could be known as: “DUDE, WHERE’S MY CAR?!?!”

Memorial Day weekend is a time to remember the brave men and women in our military armed forces who fight for our country, so that we can enjoy this nation’s liberties to heart. That same liberty applies to anime fans and fellow nerds alike in America also, because Memorial Day is also a nation wide convention weekend. With so many cons happening at the same time, my co-host Jonn and I decided to take in the sights of near local conventions that were a drive away. Jonn went to the Phoenix Comic Con, and I took the journey to Animazement.

Animazement for me has, and always will be, an adventurous weekend in it of itself. The con every year let’s me experience and see things that I probably normally should and should not see on a daily basis. My adventures include meeting people, catching up with fellow podcasters, seeing the sights, bailing my ride out of the impound lot, getting into virtual fights, giving a little review on Urusei Yatsura: Only You and a hell of a lot more. You could say it’s like its own The Hangover movie… minus most of the crazy stuff that happens, to that extreme of a level. Jonn also tells his tale of running into bootleg anime vendors and a neglected VA guest. So, let me tell of the days of high adventure…

Here is the Animazement photo’s I took while at the con!!

Download Episode HERE (Total Time: 1:59:43 )

Music Selection:

OP: Freeza does all the nations of the world (by Ryuesi Nakao)

ED: I thought this fit pretty well…

This show has:

This was my instant reaction walking out of my friends place that Sunday morning…

Yea, this was pretty much the main highlight of the con…

This was how I imagined Jonn was killing ants in his house (go to 5:40)…

Where is my Bluray release of this movie???

This won over in the depths of hell… ANIME HELL…

CSC_0484

AUTOGRAPHS!!!

CSC_0483

ANIMUU SHWAAAAGGG!!!!

204afe4ed20a1cc835ff52014d100ed88b66f99b

893634ed2c15f386cc0a05d00504ee45c3c55057

5deb4e6e07563ea69547b26c4455a922c258fe99

Jonn’s cool Phoenix Comic Con stuff…

Dat is one killer ink my man…

My home away from home (before the otaku mob hit it an hour later on Saturday…)

4 responses

  1. Nice grabs and autographs. Its pretty bitchin’ indeed you got the dude to sign your laserdisc. I see you also got a Gundam game on the Saturn, I need to get those games for my Saturn.

    I think I might have lucked out on my own copy of Arcadia because I got it for like $10 on ebay, still sealed. I guess I was on Ebay at the right time. Too bad AnimEigo isn’t still around(or are they?) because their DVDs are really nice. Is putting inserts in DVD/Blu-Rays too much to ask for, or is giving a shit too expensive?

    I like old magazine publications too. They’re like time capsules of sorts.

    I’m also a fan of comics. I may not know what Black Magic is, but I definitely know Jack Kirby so I know its gotta be good. Cool issue of Teen Titans too, Trigon right on the cover.

    You should check out Urusei Yatsura 2: Beautiful Dreamer. If you didn’t know, the first two Urusei Yatsura movies were directed by Mamoru Oshii (Patlabor, Ghost in the Shell ’95) so you know they’re great movies. The second movie takes a turn to be surreal and its considered one of Oshii’s masterpieces. Great fun.

    06/07/2013 at 8:00 pm

    • Oh crap, I gotta make a mention in the show notes that I called my little review of Only You as a legit review (or the closest as of now I will talk about UY as of date). I have heard Beautiful Dreamer is a must see movie, even though I have never seen it.

      My co-host Jonn and Josh know more about comics than I do. I have never been into comics except a few issues of Cable and other things here and there. I enjoy collection magazines of the past, and especially meeting Trish Ledoux to haver her sign old Animerica issues when I can, because she knows me as “that guy.” And like I said in the podcast, she was cool with me hanging around after not seeing her in about 3 years.

      Thanks for listening in man, And for sure, our Gundam The Origin review will be out soon (psst… like next week).

      06/07/2013 at 8:25 pm

  2. No problem, dude. Will definitely be looking forward to The Origin review.

    06/08/2013 at 12:33 am

  3. Pingback: AoY Podcast #34 – Anime Collecting Talk (w/ Anime Nostalgia Podcast) | The Anime of Yesteryear Podcast

Leave a comment